Posted by: sarahswati | December 1, 2010

Poem-A-Day Day 1: Off to a Rollicking Start?

Well, day one of my endeavor to write a poem every day in December has come and gone and… I guess it will take some time to get warmed up? I hope that’s all it is. I mean I know I’m capable of writing good poems, but… *sigh*.

I can’t believe I’m posting this one. This is going to be one of those warts-and-all months for my blog. :)

 

They Can’t All Be Winners

The first day of a new project begins…
And I don’t.

Twelve hours later,
And I’m sitting on the couch,
Macbook on my lap.
I can’t help but think of how cold I feel.
My mind snags
On every little sound around me.

My calves are freezing tonight.
Winter’s set in and I’m feeling old,
So old,
So cold.

That, and this poem sucks.

I guess they can’t all be winners…

(Got that out of the way early?)

Responses

  1. The first day of a new project begins…
    And I don’t.

    Love this. Been there.

  2. *whew*

    I’m glad somebody else has. ;)


Leave a Reply

Categories

